Cameron Jones

^aSchool of Chemistry, Monash University, Melbourne, VIC, 3800, Australia <u>cameron.jones@monash.edu</u>

Cameron was born in Perth, Australia. He completed his BSc (Hons) degree at the University of Western Australia in 1984. From 1985-1987 he worked as a Research Officer at the University Department of Surgery, Royal Perth Hospital. His PhD degree was gained from Griffith University, Brisbane,



under the supervision of Professor Colin L. Raston in 1992, for work on Group 13 metal hydrides. He then moved to a postdoctoral fellowship (1992-1994) at Sussex University under the supervision of Professor John F. Nixon FRS. From 1994 he held a lectureship at The University of Wales, Swansea before moving to a Readership in Inorganic Chemistry at Cardiff University (1998). There, he was promoted to a Personal Chair in Inorganic Chemistry in 2002. At Cardiff he founded (2004) and co-directed The Centre for Fundamental and Applied Main Group Chemistry. In 2007 he moved to Monash University, Melbourne, as an ARC Australian Professorial Fellow and Professor of Chemistry. He is currently the RL Martin Distinguished Professor of Chemistry at that institution, in addition to being the Director of the Monash Catalysis Initiative, which he co-founded in 2015. Cameron was elected as a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science in 2017.

Selected Fellowships and Prizes

2022: Visiting Professorial Fellow, University of Toulouse, Paul Sabatier, France2019: Inaugural Thomas W. Powell Heep Foundation Hagler Institute Chair for Science at Texas A&M University.

2018: Fellow, The Hagler Institute of Advanced Study (HIAS) at Texas A&M University, USA.

2017: Return Senior Research Award of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation.

2017: Elected Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science (AAS).

2017 - 2021: RL Martin Distinguished Chair of Chemistry.

2016: Royal Society of Chemistry (UK) Australasian Lectureship.

2014 - 2020: Honorary member of Magdalen College, Oxford.

2014: Frankland Award of the Royal Society of Chemistry, UK.

2013: HG Smith Memorial Medal of the Royal Australian Chemical Institute.

2013: Fellow Commoner, The Queen's College, Oxford.

2013: Visiting Fellow, Magdalen College, Oxford.

2012: Elected Fellow of the Royal Australian Chemical Institute.

2011: Burrows Award of the Royal Australian Chemical Institute.

2008: Senior Research Award of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation.

2006: ARC Australian Professorial Research Fellowship (5 years).

2004: Royal Society of Chemistry's Prize and Medal for Main Group Element Chemistry.

2003: Elected Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry.

Matthias Driess

Technische Universit ät Berlin, Department of Chemistry: Metalorganics & Inorganic Materials, Strasse des 17. Juni 135, 10623 Berlin, Germany matthias.driess@tu-berlin.de

Matthias Driess was born 1961 in Eisenach, Thuringia. He received his diploma in chemistry in 1985 and recieved his PhD 1988 at the Ruprecht-Karls Universit ät Heidelberg. After working as a postdoctoral

fellow with Professor Robert West in Madison, Wisconsin, U.S.A., for a year, he returned to Heidelberg in 1989 and finished his habilitation in inorganic chemistry in 1993 with a thesis about silicon and phosphorus in unusual coordination. After three more intellectually stimulating years in Heidelberg he was appointed professor for inorganic chemistry at the Ruhruniversit ät Bochum in 1996. In 2004 he moved to Technische Universit ät Berlin, where he holds a chair in organometallic chemistry and inorganic materials at the department of chemistry. He served from 2007-2018 as spokesperson of the Cluster of Excellence UniCat. Since 2019 he is deputy speaker of the new Cluster of Excellence "Unifying systems in Catalysis, UniSysCat". Since 2012 he is a member of the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina. Since 2014 he is an Ordinary Member of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities. Since 2020 he is a member of the European Academy of Sciences.

Selected Awards:

Lecturer scholarship of the Fonds der Chemischen Industrie (1996) Chemistry Award of the Akademie der Wissenschaften zu Göttingen (1997) Otto-Klung-Award for Chemistry (2000) Alfred-Stock-Memorial-Award of the Gesellschaft Deutscher Chemiker (2010) Wacker Silicone Award (2011) Member of the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina (2012)

Member of the European Academy of Sciences (2020)



Simon Aldridge

Inorganic Chemistry Laboratory, Department of Chemistry, University of Oxford, South Parks Road, Oxford, OX1 3QR, UK; simon.aldridge@chem.ox.ac.uk

Originally from Shrewsbury, England, Simon received both his BA and DPhil degrees from the University of Oxford, the latter in 1996 for work on hydride chemistry under the supervision of Tony Downs. After

post-doctoral work as a Fulbright Scholar at Notre Dame with Tom Fehlner, and at Imperial College London (with Mike Mingos) he took up his first academic position at Cardiff University in 1998. He returned to Oxford in 2007, being promoted to professor in 2010. Prof Aldridge has published more than 200 papers to date and is a winner of the Dalton Transactions European Lectureship (2009) and the Royal Society of Chemistry's Main Group Chemistry (2010) and Frankland Awards (2018).

Beyond the UK he was Visiting Lecturer of the Organometallic Chemistry Division (GEQO) of the Spanish Royal Society of Chemistry (RSEQ) in 2018, and has also held positions as Distinguished Visiting Lecturer at Hong Kong Baptist University (2014) and University Visiting Professor at Monash University (Melbourne, 2012). Since 2018 he has been Director of the Oxford/EPSRC Centre for Doctoral Training in Inorganic Chemistry for Future Manufacturing, a £10.4M programme to train the next generation of scientists in inorganic synthesis. Simon is also a tutorial fellow in chemistry at The Queen's College.

